Former president of (MUSIGA), Bice Osei Kufour (Obour) has lost the Asante Akyem South New Patriotic Party (NPP) parliamentary primaries. This comes as a surprise to many who were very hopeful apart from Criss Waddle & DBlack.

MUSIGA to contest Asante Akyem South #NPPPrimaries and loses to an incumbent – after Coronavirus controversies? Asante Akyem South Results; Hon. Kwaku Asante – 360 Obour – 296 Edmund – 9 William – 32 Amofa – 8

He lost to the incumbent Member of Parliament (MP) Kwaku Asante-Boateng. While Obour had 296 votes, Mr. Asante-Boateng polled 360 votes.

NPP delegates have voted to elect parliamentary candidates for 168 constituencies.

This exercise is the second phase after the first phase of the primaries came off in September 2019 in constituencies with no sitting Members of Parliament.

A total of 374 aspirants contested in the 168 constituencies. Out of the 374 persons, 325 are men while 51 are women.

Meanwhile, Communications Director of the NPP Yaw Buaben Asamoah has retained his position as the party’s candidate for the Adentan constituency come December.

In the Okaikoi South, Ahmed Arthur has lost the seat to Darkoa Newman while in the Dome Kwabenya constituency, Adwoa Safo has retained the seat beating Mike Oquaye Junior.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here